Thoughts On Kyoto: Part 5

Bad stomach cramps and beyond had me tucked in for the day, so I stayed home to do homework and ponder life a bit. My time in Kyoto would be ending in a mere 3 weeks if not for okaa-san and otou-san being such beautiful generous people, but even still my stay here is slowly ending and it’s making me sad and a lot more hyped to go out and do . . . well, everything. So yeah, I’ve just been thinking about this beautiful city a lot and here are some of those thoughts.

  1. Food variety here is beyond on point. Thai food, Indian food, Italian, Middle Eastern, bakeries out the butt, I’m super impressed.
  2. Springing from that, I really appreciate the love of crèpes here. They’ve got chocolate banana, crazy fruit, the insane menu from that one place in Kamakura – better than I can find where I am in America.
  3. Okay, that being said they could do Mexican food (Hawai‘i had that issue too . . .). I do miss my bean-y, cheesy, guacamole topped goodness.
  4. Foreigners acknowledging each other? Get out. I mean seriously, it’s either the glance over or the slightly aggressive ‘don’t even try talking to me’ face. Fine, I didn’t want to talk to your snoot-hoot self anyways.
  5. Ice cream is a consistent ¥350. Which is about $3.50, and while that’s pricey to pay at home for anything and I won’t do it, here I’ll dish out like no biggie for the creamy goodness. Something I need to remember next time I fight myself on (on-sale) Ben & Jerry’s at $7/2 bargain days.
  6. No trash cans while you’re walking around in public. It’s only bottle bins, and while that’s nice it kind of sucked when I didn’t want to eat my toast crust and had to stick it in my pocket for the bus ride (good thing I had a tissue).
  7. There are more than a handful of people who can’t get out their change/bus fare for the bus until they’ve reached the doors. At which point they proceed to pat down all of their pockets (one guy went through 8 before, between his pants and jacket) before finding their form of pay and finally getting off. Come on clowns.
  8. There’s magic in the air, and it comes in the haunting and random voice of a person in a tiny white truck. In Japan exists the Yakimo man, this magical mythical being (possibly slightly exaggerating) who drives around in this little white truck at night in winter, selling you hot baked sweet potato as long as your forearm. Say what now?! Check him here. Apparently his counterpart is the warabi mochi man, who comes around in summer.
  9. Tanuki are a rare sighting, even if you live in the countryside. They’re on my ‘to-see’ list while I’m here, so I hope I’m a lucky duck.
  10. Too many words for duck. That’s all I have to say on that subject, but one night okaa-san and I spent over a half-hour looking up duck vocab and explaining/trying to figure out their differences. Done.
  11. Christmas wreaths are a thing, even though a fair enough amount of people don’t do Christmas. Okaa-san normally makes one, but not recently.
  12. Peanut butter is not a thing here/when it is it’s crazy expensive. We’re talking $20 for the mini-jar of Jif type of expensive. And the one that I found looked like blended nuts with this uber watery texture. Where’s my cheap creamy peanut-y goodness?
  13. Houseplants and little gardens are everywhere. I can’t think of more than a handful of houses/apartments near me that have been without at least one potted beauty decorating the steps or lined against the walls.
  14. Buses are so timely. So timely, in fact, that despite how prompt my butt has gotten at being places in a timely fashion, sometimes the bus is early and still leaves without me. To efficiency and beyond.

 

Check out my other Thoughts On Kyoto posts below, and take a look at all the posts in my Thoughts On . . . series here.

Part 1234

Leave a Reply

