Thoughts On Kamakura

My fall break may still have 2 days left before school, but my personal adventure way from home-sweet-Kyoto has come to its end. Here’s my take on the lovely town of Kamakura (and surrounding area):

  1. I love ocean towns and have always wanted to live by the ocean, but this place just confirmed it. Seaside towns are the best.
  2. Lots of large, sleek birds swooping all over the town. Very majestic and fun to watch.
  3. There were numerous cafes that was scattered about the place, all very different and worth a visit. Of course, I didn’t get to all of them but that was only due to time.
  4. All the temples here were so quiet compared to the big shots in Kyoto, and while I’m assuming that’s due to it being off-season I really appreciated it. Everything was gorgeous and it felt so much more breathable at the temples.
  5. Shirasu, the popular little fish of the area, is very tasty. I had it twice, once as part of a chirashizushi bowl and the other as straight-up shirasudon. Both varieties I had, the grey and white, were great, but I more highly recommend the white version.
  6. The town is a great mix of seaside energy, quaint old Japan and plain old, everyday town with cute ol’ houses and school kids everywhere.
  7. Speaking of the school children, why the hell weren’t they in school? I swear, everyday we saw at least 3 large groups of children any age, meaning from elementary to high school, strolling through town. My best guess if that they were on out-of-prefecture field trips and not the local kids, but I’m still not sure? Definitely revisiting articles on Japanese schools.
  8. So many types of food. We’re talking Turkish ice cream, French crêpe craziness, German schnitzel euphoria, Hawaiian loco mocos and malasadas, American dogs, a good-looking Thai place and more. Whether it was the sweets, stands or straight on restaurants, Kamakura was loaded with food options.
  9. Fish flops. Ya know, those things I bought on day 2 of my trip? Yeah, those are sticking with me (both in spirit and on foot).
  10. The Enoden. A very cute, albeit a bit screechy little line that felt like something out of a Ghibli movie and was a great service all of our days there. A deep green line of maybe 5 cars, this little things runs across 15 stations and is just adorable. I could ride that thing forever.
  11. This place hit winter a bit later than Kyoto. As in, I wished I’d brought my shorts and tanks for the first 2-3 days we were there. While it did cool off enough by the end of our stay, it really was a strange contrast.
  12. Which contributes to my bigger theory that Kamakura is in some sort of time warp. I mean really, you had no sense of time or place there besides feeling content and cozy. I could honestly live there if the opportunity came about 😉
  13. Following that, suck it to whatever professor told Lizzie that that place was boring (he lived there for 14 months and was pretty indifferent about the experience). Same goes to the people who gave us doubtful looks about staying there for a week, or even just 5 days, seeing as we took day trips on 2 of the days. Kamakura rocks and I highly recommend it.
  14. Daisy’s Cafe will forever be one of my fondest cafes. We went there 3 times, every experience was great, they’re dog friendly and just friendly in general. They also have great cocoa tequila and I’ll miss the joint dearly. The owner even waked us out the door waved us goodbye through the window as we slowly but contentedly made our way out past closing.

Basically I’m in love with this little town and plan to return someday. From Kamakura itself to Enoshima a few stops over on the Enoden, I really had a great time filled with a bunch of great food, fun outings, unique temples and lovely people. If there wasn’t enough to do in the town, it’s relatively close to major hubs like Yokohama and Tokyo, so it felt like a pretty limitless location. Please go if you get the chance, and be sure to stop by Daisy’s!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Anthony says:

    Kamakura is awesome.
    I remember walking in the tunnel that goes underneath the tracks.
    I saw a person as she slowly appeared (feet first) –and she was so incredibly beautiful. She disappeared the same way as she went upwards on the other side of the tunnel.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lizhatesfizz says:

      That sounds so . . . floaty, in a surreal sort of way. I didn’t even know there was a tunnel under the tracks. For next time, I suppose.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Anthony says:

        I think I found them because I walked to the great Buddha rather than take a bus.

        Like

Leave a Reply

