Poorly Placed Chairs & Pieces Of Things

Seiko-san, the adorable senior who showed me my commute home in those first days of orientation, meets me for lunch every Thursday and it’s great. She usually brings a friend along too, and it’s been a different person every week which is exciting! Today I met Chiharu-san, who’s studied abroad in New Zealand and loves it – hell to the yeah for these coincidences/all the Japanese people who love New Zealand. It was just a really pleasant lunch, then Lizzie and I split to go do homework/read fanfic/goof off in the cafe on campus.

When I headed home for today I stared at the same scene as always, but today was the time for it to take the spotlight. God knows why it’s there or how long it’s been there, but there’s this incredibly random desk/chair combo that just sits along the wall of campus, no questions asked? It’s a nicer-looking roll-y chair too, and it just kind of chills there, rain or shine. I’ve never seen anyone sit at or touch it, but no one gives it weird looks either, so I guess it’s just part of the campus scenery. I dunno man. (ALSO: just checked the pic and it’s blurry; I’ll put a good one in tomorrow)

Post-dinner convo flowed in the vein of top places to travel, Ben & Jerry’s fabulous ice cream and the gendering of words. This started from my trying to explain ice cream flavors to her, and using the words pieces. Since okaa-san’s eigo is on fleek she knew what ‘pieces’ meant, but in Japan they have so many specific counters and this specific flaw (biased but oh well) of not using an equivalent of ‘pieces’. Which got us into other english words like chunks (chocolate and baking), hunks (bread, cheese and dated slang for a hottie) and other awkwardly specific words we use for this stuff. She was super intrigued and I started doubting my mastery (pfft, as if) of the english language. Huzzah! We also then moved to the gendering of words, and how the romance languages all use ‘la/le’ or their equivalents for nouns and the way that it shapes perception of objects. This got us into how the sun and moon are usually viewed, with most Americans (that I know) and romance language speakers viewing them as masculine and feminine respectively. I told her how I assumed Japan felt the reverse, a feminine sun and masculine moon, because of the sun goddess Amaterasu and moon god Tsukuyomi, which are kind of obviously gendered. But she’d only heard of the sun goddess, so that was off the books. I digress; I just wanted to remember this for me int the future 🙂

Now, at almost 11 pm, okaa-san has emerged from her room to have some candy and try to fit a toilet-paper tube on Miao-chan’s tail. And to shower her with kisses because she’s adorable. I love my life right now. Also chatting with Courtney about hoodoo and spiritual stuff and it warms my heart because I miss magickal talks with my home peeps and this is so nice. Off to bed now, but first check out this avocato!!! Okaa-san wants to try it with Myuu-chan.

Leave a Reply

