Coral the Coral

No one was in the office today, except for the skeleton head left on Isa’s chair this morning. There were about 5 people in the cubicles but since we only really talk to Ross, I’m going with just 1 person. It was oddly quiet without the normal goofing around, which did not help with my drowsiness levels. However, I did catch Tom (total frat bro of a guy) going off about something along the lines of “why won’t you look at my butt?” to Paul, the more stoic military guy of the pair and who had a great response that I can’t remember. The joys of Mondays.

�B<L??�B 3.JPG

On the bright side despite waking up late, because whoa was that hike/swim/craziness of Sunday quite a doozy, we were still in office before everyone else. Was it that much of a challenge? No, but I’ll still feel accomplished with myself. To counter that every time I tried to sit or stand took mad effort, as in sitting takes 30 seconds of slow-mo self-lowering, and standing involves me lifting myself using arm strength alone via the chair arms, after which I lean against the desk as I wait for my legs to be functioning. Super fun! The bruises look worse today but they are slightly less painful, so I’ll take it.

IMG_1467

 

This week is the big International Coral Reef Symposium, which only happens once every 4 years, just so happens to be the year that I’m here & is the reason our office is a country western-style ghost town. They had a free event for the public tonight, so that was my evening. The regular conference, which is all week long from ~8-4, is $900, so haha & no thanks. The event was chill, definitely some interesting speakers but there was also some stuff of definite intrigue that I was glad to hear about. It was just a rapid-fire bunch of 4 snazzy speakers, each of whom had great success staying within the times limits – not.

Two take-aways came from this. Firstly, check out Coral the coral in the video I got to see, and if you’re looking for the good stuff skip to ~4 minutes in. The woman in the video is the woman who spoke to us, which is always a strange thing to me. The little chant by Coral was the winner of wtf-ness in that video, followed by the fact that the organization is titled O-Zone, and despite standing for Outrigger Zone that kinda sends a really bad message fir the little ‘uns. Secondly, this Australian group called The Ocean Agency developed this rad app that lets you see a 360 view of the ocean in areas where they’ve dived & uploaded the pics. Definitely check it out if you get the chance, it was pretty cool from what I could see on other people’s smartphones.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Patricia nagy says:

    Hi Elizabeth just read your blog and loved the the coral song keep them comming hope your not hurting too much. Love grandma and poppy

    Like

Leave a Reply

